RESOLUTION 2016-

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE SUBMISSION OF A RECYCLING TONNAGE GRANT APPLICATION FOR THE BOROUGH OF BELMAR

WHEREAS, the Mandatory Source Separation and Recycling Act, P.L. 1987, c. 102, has established a recycling fund from which tonnage grants may be made to municipalities in order to encourage local source separation and recycling programs; and

WHEREAS, it is the intent and spirit of the Mandatory Source Separation and Recycling Act to use the tonnage grants to develop new municipal recycling programs and to continue and expand existing programs; and

WHEREAS, The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection has promulgating recycling regulations to implement the Mandatory Source Separation and Recycling Act; and

WHEREAS, the recycling regulations impose on municipalities certain requirements as a condition for applying for tonnage grants, including, but not limited to, making and keeping accurate verifiable records of materials collected and claimed by the municipality; and

WHEREAS, a resolution authorizing the Borough to apply to such tonnage grants will memorialize the Borough's commitment to recycling and indicate the assent of the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Belmar to the efforts undertaken by the Borough and the requirements contained in the Recycling Act and recycling regulations; and

WHEREAS, such a resolution should designate the individual authorized to ensure that the application is properly completed and timely filed along with a copy of the 2015 recycling tonnage report.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Mayor and Council of the Borough of Belmar hereby endorse the submission of the recycling tonnage grant application to the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection and designates Charlie Vanderlinde, to ensure that the application is properly filed; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the monies received from the recycling tonnage grant be deposited in a dedicated recycling trust fund to be used for the purposes of recycling.

offered the above resolution and moved its adoption.

Seconded by and adopted by the following vote:

Councilmembers: AYES NAYS ABSTAIN ABSENT

Ms. Keown-Blackburn

Mr. Magovern

Mr. Brennan

Mrs. Nicolay

Mayor Doherty

Adopted: March 15, 2016